• May 4 › The Artist’s Mirror: Self Portraits at Glenbow to Jan 26, 2019, Calgary »
  • Dec 6 › Dish: Medalta International Ceramics Exhibition to Jan 24, Medicine Hat »

RBC Canadian Painting Competition

Apr 20 • Alberta, Awards & Prizes, BC, CALLS, Canada, Canadian artists, Competitions, DISCIPLINES, Juried Group Shows, Painting, SCOPE • 2188 Views • Comments Off on RBC Canadian Painting Competition

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

2018 RBC Canadian Painting Competition is now closed. The next intake will open in 2019.

  • Started in 1999, national competition celebrates 20 years of Canadian talent and diversity
  • New 2018 prize includes prestigious residency at Banff Centre for the Arts

Today, RBC and Canadian Art issued the call for submissions to the 2018 RBC Canadian Painting Competition. To mark the 20th anniversary, the competition is awarding an additional grand prize: a residency at the renowned Banff Centre for the Arts, a global leader in the development and promotion of creative work in the arts.

The jury has been selected and consists of experts from Canada’s art community, as well as a guest international juror from New York. The jury will identify 15 finalists from across the country, and award the winner and honourable mentions. This year’s jury includes:

  • Natasha Chaykowski – Researcher, Writer & Curator, Calgary, AB
  • Mark Igloiorte – Artist & Assistant Professor, Emily Carr University of Art & Design, Vancouver, BC
  • Crystal Mowry – Artist & Senior Curator, Kitchener-Waterloo Art Gallery, Kitchener, ON
  • Erin Stump – Director, ESP I Erin Stump Projects, Toronto, ON
  • Alexandra McIntosh – Director of Programs and Exhibitions, Fogo Island Arts, Fogo Island, NL
  • Julie Trudel – Artist & RBC Canadian Painting Competition Alumni (2011, 2012), Montreal, QC
  • Cynthia Daignault – Artist, Brooklyn, NY

The winner of the 2018 RBC Canadian Painting Competition will be announced on September 17th at an awards Gala in Toronto. The top prize includes $25,000 and the residency with Banff Centre for the Arts. Two honourable mentions will each receive $15,000, and the remaining 12 finalists will receive $2,500 each. The paintings by the winner and two honourable mentions will be added to RBC’s extensive art collection, featuring more than 4,500 Canadian works that have been collected since 1929.

Entries are now being accepted online at and must be received by May 1, 2018. Finalists will be announced on June 27, 2018, and all 15 artists will have their work exhibited at The Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery in Toronto, Ontario.

Details and rules of the competition can be found at

Since 1999, the RBC Canadian Painting Competition, with the support of the Canadian Art Foundation, has been a unique initiative that helps bridge the gap from emerging to established artists. The RBC Canadian Painting Competition is RBC’s cornerstone RBC Emerging Artists Project property which focuses on supporting artists at the early stage of their careers. More than just financial support, this program offers mentorship, exposure to audiences and more.

Three regional juries comprised of experienced gallery directors, artists, curators and industry leaders select five paintings from their regions to make up the fifteen finalists, ensuring a true representation of visual artists from across the country.

Eastern Canada (Quebec, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, PEI, Newfoundland and Labrador),
Central Canada (Ontario),
Western Canada (Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia, Yukon, Northwest Territories, Nunavut).

The three juries convene for a two day deliberation where they determine one national winner and two honourable mentions from the 15 finalists. The national winner receives a purchase prize of $25,000, the two honourable mentions each receive $15,000 and the remaining 12 finalists receive $2,500 each.

The top three works become part of the RBC Corporate Art Collection which holds more than 4,500 works of art collected over the past century.

The 2017 RBC Canadian Painting Competition Finalists

To all the artists who submitted their work, thank you for your interest, passion and creativity. We are proud to announce the 15 finalists in this year’s competition: Michael Freeman Badour, Amanda Boulos, Teto Elsiddique, Cindy Ji Hye Kim, David Kaarsemaker, Wei Li, Laura Payne, Veronika Pausova, Laura Rokas-Bérubé, M.E Sparks, Kizi Spielmann Rose, Angela Teng, Joani Tremblay, Tristan Unrau and Ambera Wellmann. The winners will be announced on October 17th 2017 at the National Gallery of Canada in Ottawa.

For more information, please contact:
Michelle Yao, michelle.yao@rbc.com647-618-3792

Related Posts

Comments are closed.

« »